Tuesday 25 July 2017 | 11:53

Civil society

The International Consortium "EuroBelarus" considers CIVIL SOCIETY as:

1. The space for its self-determination.

2. The object of its activity, attention and concern.

We consider civil society as being the scope of manifestation of free activity of citizens, acting either alone or uniting into associations and organizations in order to express and defend their civic position with regard to urgent challenges of the country and its future.

Civil society is a sector that is free of direct intervention of the government and business, its agents act on the basis of their own goals and interests. We attribute to civil society not only traditional non-governmental organizations (NGOs), but also associations of employers, associations of employees (trade unions), religious, local, professional societies, and any declared public initiatives and movements, including informal activity of individuals and their groups.

The International Consortium "EuroBelarus" defines itself and acts in the civil society space in Belarus and in Europe.

We understand that today’s civil society in Belarus is still at a stage of development. It is small as for the number of people and organizations willing to express their civic position and to influence t actively he rate and direction of society development. Civil society actors still don’t rate high as for the role in today's Belarus. For 20 years of independent Belarus’ contemporary history civil society has not actually had favorable environment that would contribute to its formation and development.

Nowadays it is reflected in a number of difficulties and challenges*:

  • Maintaining of the Soviet practice of simulation the forms of civic engagement, which is manifested in existence and even strengthening the phenomenon of state non-governmental organizations;

  • Promiscuity (due to the nature of the political situation) of opposition political structures and civil society organizations and, accordingly, absence of a clear definition of civil society responsibilities and established relationship between it and political structures;

  • Civil society structures become professional organizations and pass from civic engagement to acting in narrow fields of its activities;

  • Marginalization of self-organized associations and structures that have their own goals, as well as individual citizens; their existence in the mode of self-preservation and survival in conditions of rejection of broad public impact.

Being aware of these problems, we see Belarusan civil society not only as a sphere of our existence, self-determination and expression of our civic position, but also as an object of our activity and concern. Development and institutional strengthening of civil society in Belarus is the goal of activity of the International Consortium "EuroBelarus" at the present stage of development of our country.

This goal determines the main directions for the development of civil society:

1. Consolidation of civil society actors as to create a joint position in relations with institutional partners.

Belarusian civil society should be able to form and present its "voice and position, to interact on equal terms with political actors (with the government through negotiations, with the political opposition in the mode of coordination and activities’ coordination); to provide valuable influence on the changes and development of the country, its movement towards de-Sovietization, Belarusization and Europeanization. Consolidation of the civil society provides formation and strengthening mechanisms for coordination and presentation of a joint civil society position on the most important issues, mechanisms of representation of civil society of Belarus during negotiations with all stakeholders, mechanisms of civil society joint actions’ organization.

Within this framework "EuroBelarus" also sees emergence and development of the National Platform of the Eastern Partnership Civil Society Forum. We are moving from the use of conditions and opportunities of the EU Eastern Partnership initiative, where the National Platform has become the site for presentation of civil society voice in Belarus-EU relations, to enhancing the Belarusan National Platform Civil Society as a space and mechanism for consolidation of society on the most urgent challenges and problems of the country’s development.

2. Development of Belarusan civil society as a part of European civil society.

In this track we focus on:

  • cooperation in promoting the principles of the European Charter of Active Citizenship — active engagement of civil society as a full subject in formation the European agenda and addressing the social, political and cultural issues, which we consider common European problems;

  • development and expansion of Belarusian civil society competencies required for full inclusion in programs, projects and actions at European level;

  • development and promotion in Belarus of European standards in various areas of life and activity;

  • full integration of Belarusian civil society in discussing, critique and development of European norms and standards in appropriate institutional forms.

       ____________________________________

Uladzimir Matskevich. Sketches to the analysis of the third sector  (2000).

Uladzimir Matskevich. On the role of personality in the NGO activity  (2007).

Gintautas Mažeikis: The relation of political field and arena in the framework of information war

In his report, philosopher Gintautas Mažeikis discusses several concepts that have been a part of the European social and philosophical thought for quite a time.

Belarusan human rights defenders’ view on human rights activity and questions of cooperation

We present a research results report of Belarusan human rights organizations sector.

Belarus's Lukashenko alleges “fifth column” plot as unrest continues

Belarusan President Lukashenko said on Tuesday a “fifth column” was plotting to overthrow him with the help of foreign-backed fighters, days before a planned street protest in Minsk against a new tax.

Historical and Cultural Heritage and Its Substance

Our expert in issues of forming identity on local visual codes, professional designer Michal Aniempadystau prepared a special report for our meeting in Brussels and further at a Belarusian discussion.

Среда 22 февраля 2017 года | 00:06
  • бел / рус
  • eng

Гражданское общество

Гражданское общество мы пониманием как сферу проявления свободной активности граждан, которые действуют индивидуально либо, объединяясь в ассоциации и организации, чтобы выразить и отстоять свою гражданскую позицию по отношению к актуальным проблемам страны и ее будущему.

Международный консорциум «ЕвроБеларусь» рассматривает гражданское общество как:

  1. Пространство своего самоопределения.
  2. Объект своей деятельности, внимания и заботы.

Гражданское общество — это сфера, независимая от прямого вмешательства государственной власти и бизнеса, его субъекты действуют на основе своих собственных целей и интересов. К гражданскому обществу мы относим не только традиционные негосударственные организации (НГО), но также ассоциации нанимателей, объединения наемных работников (профсоюзы), религиозные, местные, профессиональные сообщества, любые заявленные общественные инициативы и движения, включая неформальную активность отдельных граждан и неформальных групп.

Гражданское общество — это система самостоятельных и независимых от государства общественных институтов и отношений, которые призваны обеспечить условия для самореализации отдельных граждан и инициатив, реализации их интересов и потребностей.

Международный консорциум «ЕвроБеларусь» определяет себя и действует в пространстве гражданского общества Беларуси и Европы.

Гражданское общество в любой стране создается постепенно, формируясь естественным путем. Мы понимаем, что сегодня в Беларуси гражданское общество пока еще находится в фазе своего становления. Оно невелико по числу людей и организаций, готовых проявлять свою гражданскую позицию и активно влиять на темпы и направление развития общества. Субъекты гражданского общества пока занимают незначительное место и роль в современной Беларуси. За 20 лет новейшей истории суверенной Беларуси гражданское общество практически не имело благоприятных условий, которые способствовали бы его становлению и развитию.

Сегодня это отражается в ряде сложностей и проблем, таких как:

  • Сохранение советской практики симуляции форм гражданской активности, что проявляется в существовании и даже усилении такого явления, как государственные негосударственные организации;
  • Смешанность (в силу специфики политической ситуации) оппозиционных политических структур и организаций гражданского общества и, соответственно, отсутствие четкого определения сферы ответственности гражданского общества и установленных отношений между ним и политическими структурами;
  • Профессионализация структур гражданского общества, переход от гражданской активности к функционированию в узких сферах профессиональной деятельности;
  • Маргинализация самоорганизованных и имеющих собственные цели ассоциаций и инициатив, а также отдельных граждан, существование их в режиме самосохранения и выживания при отказе от широкого общественного влияния.

Осознавая эти проблемы, мы видим гражданское общество не только как среду нашего существования, самоопределения и выражения своей гражданской позиции, но и как объект нашего внимания и заботы.

Развитие и институциональное укрепление гражданского общества в Беларуси — цель деятельности Международного консорциума «ЕвроБеларусь» на современном этапе развития нашей страны.

Наша цель определяет основные направления работы по развитию гражданского общества:

1. Консолидация субъектов гражданского общества для формирования общего голоса в отношениях с институциональными партнерами.

Гражданское общество Беларуси должно быть способным сформировать и предъявить свой «голос и позицию», на равных вступать во взаимодействие с политическими субъектами (с властью — в режиме переговоров, с политической оппозицией — в режиме координации и согласования действий); оказывать действенное влияние на изменения и развитие страны, ее движение в сторону десоветизации, беларусизации и европеизации.

Консолидация гражданского общества предполагает формирование и закрепление механизмов согласования и предъявления общей позиции гражданского общества по наиболее существенным вопросам, представления гражданского общества Беларуси в ситуациях переговоров с любыми субъектами, организации солидарных действий.

В рамках этого направления «ЕвроБеларусь» рассматривает также становление и развитие Беларусской национальной платформы Форума гражданского общества Восточного партнерства. Мы движемся от использования условий и возможностей инициативы ЕС «Восточное партнерство», где Национальная платформа стала местом предъявления голоса гражданского общества в беларусско-европейских отношениях, к закреплению Национальной платформы гражданского общества Беларуси как пространства и механизма консолидации общества по отношению к наиболее актуальным вопросам и проблемам развития страны.

2. Развитие беларусского гражданского общества как части общеевропейского гражданского общества.

В этом направлении мы ориентируемся на:

  • продвижение принципов Европейской Хартии активной гражданственности — активное включение гражданского общества как полноправного субъекта в формирование общеевропейской повестки дня и решение проблем социального, политического и культурного порядка, которые мы считаем общими европейскими проблемами;
  • развитие и расширение компетенций гражданского общества Беларуси, необходимых для полноправного включения в программы, проекты и действия на общеевропейском уровне;
  • освоение и продвижение в Беларуси стандартов европейской практики в самых разных областях жизни и деятельности;
  • полноценное включение гражданского общества Беларуси в обсуждение, критику и развитие европейских норм и стандартов в соответствующих институциональных формах.


Лидеры гражданского общества Беларуси отвечают на вопросы Службы информации «ЕвроБеларуси»:

Владимир Мацкевич: Беларусско-украинские отношения нужно институализировать заново

"Кейс Жадана" продемонстрировал, что у Беларуси фактически нет четкой доктрины — ни внутриполитической, ни внешнеполитической.

Обострение дружбы: чем закончится конфликт Беларуси и России?

Текущий конфликт между Беларусью и Россией может развиваться как по жесткому, так и по мягкому варианту. Какой из них наиболее вероятен?

Бесплатные уроки мышления

Летучий университет запустил дистанционную платформу в пилотном режиме.

Меморандум идеалиста

Я идеалист. Это значит — я убежден, что идеи правят миром, определяют жизнь и деятельность людей.